Author Topic: OT: Any Poker players around here?  (Read 1936 times)

Offline WayOutWest

• View Profile
OT: Any Poker players around here?
« on: June 25, 2004, 01:09:01 PM »
Heading into a tournament weekend.  Texas Hold-em this Friday and Saturday (I'm not kidding myself into thinking I'll be in there for the finals on Sunday  :cry:  ) BUT I'm wondering if any of you have any words of wisdom?

Friday tournament is Limit Hold-em, Saturday the people who survived Friday get into the No-Limt game.  Limit Hold-em is very mechanical, kinda like Black Jack, my superior brain power as demonstrated so many times on this board  :rofl: , should get me through the field Friday (actually there is NOT supposed to be any pro's in the Friday games).

No-Limit is a very different animal and I have very little experience in that type of game.  The best advice I got from a pro was to play not to lose as opposed to playing to win.  People who play to win jeopardize their chips too ofter.  Play aggressively but ONLY play good hands, meaning you may pass up hands for hours and not get into a single game but you must remain sharp and try and spot tells.

Anyway, anyone here got any tips?
"History shouldn't be a mystery"
"Our story is real history"
"Not his story"

"My people's culture was strong, it was pure"
"And if not for that white greed"
"It would've endured"

"Laker hate causes blindness"

Offline Ted

• AOL Instant Messenger - Rustedhart
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - ruteha
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2004, 01:16:44 PM »
I've got some advice for you.

Don't throw your money away. If you need thrills, get your butt back on the basketball court. I  don't care if your knees hurt!
"You take him Perk!" ~Kevin Garnett