Author Topic: My Big Night With The Sixer(s).  (Read 1472 times)

Offline RickyPryor

• View Profile
My Big Night With The Sixer(s).
« on: February 27, 2009, 03:37:25 PM »
As some of you may know (from other Boards), I've been working in New York for many years; in fact, lived here for about 12...where my wife and I raised our children.  Recently we moved back to the Philly area - where my family continues to be rabid Sixers fans.

While living in NYC we bought TV packages every year and watched all 82 Sixers games, as most of you do...often went to the Garden to watch them play the Knicks...  We were not very popular amongst our fellow NYers, as you can imagine.

Last night I got stuck in the city and so my wife came up to spend the evening with me.  We checked into a nice hotel at about 7:30...on 51st and Madison...and made plans to eat at an upscale steak house on 45th.

Imagine our surprise when - who walks into our hotel - but the entire Sixers squad.  Coaching staff...players...administrators.  Everyone. 

Over the years and coincidentally, I've spotted teams traveling from time to time.  I've shared hotels with the Rockets, Lakers and Spurs...to name a few.  My business also dictates that I work with celebrities.  George Clooney, Nicole Kidman, Jude Law, etc etc etc

But I've never been so star struck as I was last night.

One after the next, each player entered the hotel - unknown to every other person in the lobby...except to my wife and me.  They each stopped, signed an autograph for our kids, several even stopped to chat.  We must have hung out with them for a good 15-20 minutes...ultimately spending a fair amount of time with Andre Miller, Willie Green and Sam Dalembert.  We also chatted at length with Reggie Evans and Lou Williams.  A thrill.